THE “I CAN’T” – LIE

Crossing out Lies and writing Truth on a blackboard.

Crossing out Lies and writing Truth on a blackboard.

At the age of 62, I often just sit and think about my life.  I think about how blessed I am.  I have had many.. many experiences.  I have kept many of them… ‘secret’.  Why?  Because I don’t think people will believe me and what all I have experienced.  They are so crazy-wild.. I thought, felt, others would think I am a grand liar!

Well, I am not a liar.  And I have decided it is time to speak openly.. speak my truth.

I will not list it all.. all that I have experienced.. you would have no choice but to roll your eyes and say within:  “yeah…. RIGHT”.

Instead, I will use just one.

I dropped out of school at the age of 16.  I was pregnant.  This was in 1971.. not as accepted to continue on with school and be pregnant.  So, I was outta there and got married.

I am not going to detail all of that at all.. even though, the marriage, children I had and the end of the marriage created a CRATER within.  It is what I did later that is my message.

I waitress-ed and bar-tended for years.. having no education.. it seemed to be my only choice.  One evening, I was bar-tending in this really popular nightclub with live music and suddenly I felt as though God took a sledge hammer and slammed it over my head.  At that very instant, I quit serving drinks and found the manager.  I told him I am quitting.. he asked:  “When?”  I said “NOW” and I walked out.  I didn’t plan any any of it.. it just happened.  My inner voice SCREAMED at me and I FINALLY LISTENED.

So.. I decided to go to college.  I worked first at getting my GED and completed it.  I went to the local Technical College, got financial help and signed up full time.  I didn’t know what I wanted to ‘BE’… but computers at that time, which was 1982,  were UP AND COMING!  So, I decided to jump on that band wagon.

I discovered how much I LOVE TO LEARN!  I studied soooo hard.. and I had BIG fun!  I learned to program in COBOL, BASIC programming and RPG.  I loved it – loved it.!!!

In 1984, I graduated with HONORS!!!!  Yep.. I DID IT.

That is all I want to say about it but, that is not why I wrote this.  I wrote this to express to ALL that anyone can do ANYTHING.. ANYTHING!!!!!

You just have to completely soulfully want it.  THERE IS ALWAYS A WAY!!!

My biggest point is this:

“GOD DID NOT CREATE US AND ASSIGN SPECIAL KNOWLEDGE.. GIFTS TO EACH.  HE DID NOT SAY:  ‘SUSIE WILL BE A SCIENTIST’.. ‘BOBBY WILL ONLY BE POOR AND HOMELESS’.  WOULD GOD DO SUCH A THING????”

I think I’ll leave it at that.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

